"the bloggers' post"

A Letter to the Editor

In Uncategorized on January 31, 2010 at 8:10 pm

Dear Editor,

I am not really sure that you are going to visit this blog, but I figure I’ll put it out there for you either way. See, I am one of your authors, players, men, humans, etc…, and I do my best to participate when I find myself in focus and with opportunity.

Who I Am

To give you an idea of my background I am 1/2 Irish Catholic and 1/2 Indian Punjabi Hindu born in the U.S., and I am 30 years old. As far as I know and based on an extensive family tree and lack of migration, I am the only one of my kind on either side of my family. After seven generations of pure (in some respects) Irish Catholics later an extraordinary mix occurred.

From there you have a family that has primarily stayed in Indian, and are mixed by cultural standards of arranged marriages to a point of which that I myself cannot comprehend. I too am their first extraordinary mix.

You may say I was raised catholic as I was dropped into Catholic school to learn by means of immersion. I’m sure that it didn’t take as I stopped participating in mass by the time I was in 7th grade.

Officially I’m “other” in most every document I fill out. I am not faithless, or cultureless, but I am without an standardized direction in life. My parents are divorced and remarried, and neither of them belong in the same room together.

I am stating the above so that you have some background as to where the substance of this letter has been formulated. See I would like to say goodbye to my grandmother who passed today. It’s just that I’m not quite sure how someone like me should go about doing that.

In a way this is my farewell prayer.

My Relationship

I would like to start by saying I’ve never actually directly communicated with my grandmother. I have only met her in person a half of a dozen times, and we do not speak the same language. There has also never been a clear idea of context for us to communicate directly to each other within. She has also been sick for most of my adult life.

I find that my deepest sadness is for my father instead of my grandmother. She was suffering, and with what little I have formulated as belief in my life I do believe that she is relieved. For that I am actually happy. As for my father I see his pain, and I understand his fears, but can’t comprehend the loss, nor will I acknowledge what it would be like for me as it would be too painful.

My Belief

I believe that energy is abound and that all energy transforms, and therefore my grandmother has joined the energy that is all encompassing. If that is what some consider God or the universe then I am fine with that. For now I will acknowledge you as the “editor,” and will hope that you find my letter on your desk, or in some way delivered to the intended receiver. As I don’t know if you (editor) have a twitter account or not.

Now I am not going to ask for anything directly, as I don’t really feel that is how it works.

So here goes

Dear Grandma,

That’s what I call you regardless of the translation. I hope you understand. Although I don’t know you well personally, I do feel that I have a good idea of who you were. And, that makes me believe that you would understand. I see that in my father.

My father is a man that I am so similar too that I get mad at him because of what it means about me. I am honored to be his son, and as I learn about what guides him in his life I find stories of you. You were the guiding light in his life, and now that you have moved on I hope you can help him see that he is ready to be on his own. While you are at it, you may want to show him how incredibly successful he is at taking care of his family. He is a great man.

This character strength of my father is attributed to you by all that have known your relationship with one another. I also know that you are the reason that his heart is so strong and generous. This too is something I use to guide me through this journey I am on.

I’m not going to ask for things like wealth or happiness for me or anyone else as I have learned that those things are our responsibilities, and are often directly related to how well I manage my other responsibilities like my word and my love.

Instead I am going to ask you to help open my eyes, my heart, and my soul so that I can see the divinity of what is around me. And, so that I can connect to this universal energy that is around us, in what may be my only direct conduit to you. As I think this is what I believe.

I write this letter to you as my prayer. I use this as the medium to which I will put forth my energy to communicate. I hope you are where you have always dreamed to be, and that it is what my mother would call heaven, and what my father would call nirvana, and what I would call peace.

Amen and Namaste and Good-Bye,

Your grandson

Martin Vishal Bhatia

1/31/2010

Chicago, IL U.S.A.

  1. This entry has touched my heart in so many ways. I love your authenticity!

Leave a Reply

