"the bloggers' post"

A Blogger Changing Themes

In blogging on February 24, 2010 at 1:34 pm
Marty Bhatia changing themes of his blog

That's me...changing themes

Theme Changing to a Blogger is What Moving is to Homeowners

Have you ever wondered how a blogger picks his/her theme? Or, are you a blogger that has gone through this painstaking process that leaves you up at night? Well either way I’ve discovered just how much changing a theme can affect your psyche. For bloggers this is a nightmare with fears of losing followers, alienating people, and having functions that don’t work, and for readers it could be quite annoying similar to the morning I woke up and Facebook had changed.

This would be an appropriate point to insert a “WTF”.

I personally don’t like the theme of my current WordPress hosted blog because it doesn’t offer me some of the functionality that I want, but it is clean and simple. And, when in doubt clean and simple is the way a blog should be. I am growing up though (as a blogger), and I want my theme to be more functional. I want it to sort better, to have a proper contact form, to even have a bit of advertising space.

Yes I wish to advertise on my blog someday. I am sorry if this offends, but the reality is that I love to blog and the only way I can continue to do that like I wish is if the blog makes me some money. Think about it like this: my wife loves me and I love her, but my wife will love me less if I devote a lot of time and energy into something that makes her work harder. So please, when it happens, know that I will be tasteful and subtle.

Picking a Theme

Here is some basic advice that I have for you if you are picking a theme for your blog.

  1. Don’t be fooled by bells and whistles.  The more bells and whistles the more your head will ring.
  2. Pick the major function of your blog and find a theme that does primarily that. Everything else is secondary.
  3. Check the comments made by users of that theme, and the response time of the person who designed the theme.
  4. Don’t spend too much. I find great themes on http://www.themeforest.net for $30.00. They require work, but they can be pretty kick ass.
  5. Join a community. There are dozens of blogging communities that are ready to engage, share, and help. I’ve got one at http://www.meetup.com/ChicagoBlogs/ come join us to see what I mean. (sorry for the shameless promotion…I’m shameful I promise)

If You Just Read Blogs

I will not abandon those who just read my blog, and don’t actually have one. The blogs you visit can be made better by your critical eye and your wise opinion even if you don’t have a blog. Remember reader the blog is written for you. Shouldn’t you be the one who the blogger pays attention to? Isn’t the blog built for your reading comfort?

Well it should be, and it could be. Us bloggers need your feedback though. Your comments and subscriptions to our blog and the posts is not only a huge compliment to the blogger, but it also helps the blogger fix the site so that he/she is bringing you great content and making your experience on the blog’s site better.

The advertising, ebooks, shops, etc… help the blogger deliver great content because it takes the stress of time out of their consciousness. My advice to readers is to participate when you can, and when you are inspired to do so. You never know when you will get the blogger bug, and start one yourself.

My Promise

I promise that there will be a community there to support you no matter if you are a reader becoming a blogger, a blogger changing themes, a blogger trying to get to the next level, or just someone who likes reading blogs.

I promise to always try my best when posting new articles or ideas, and if you are in Chicago I promise to participate in the community. My goal after all is to authentically bring together community. I’m starting with little nuggets of insights on my blog, a Meetup Group, and a ton more.

Thanks as always for your visit.

Enjoy Life,

Marty

Leave a comment